Saturday!

OK, writing this without any way of posting it yet, but I’m going to record everything anyway! Trip up here was good, apart from the rain and consequent spray on the motorway, which made driving a bit scary. Made it safely, found the house, met my housemates (lovely!), unpacked, went for dinner with mum, then went food shopping.

That was a bit crazy… In hindsight we should have not bothered, because we got there at 7:45 and they were closing at 8… Instead of doing it tomorrow (my mums staying overnight in York), we just ran round! It was like supermarket sweep, but we forgot half of what I needed, like porridge oats (!!) and picked up stupid stuff on a whim like Oreos (which I am going to foist off on my housemates!) I also realised I can’t actually join the Uni gym yet, because I haven’t got my card, which acts as key for everything and I don’t think the pick up point will be open on a Sunday. Although, my mum is still here tomorrow and I want to have a wander around the city, so its not imperative. After induction on Monday, I’ll get my card and it’ll be the first thing I do. Needed, because of what I ate today:

breakfast: porridge and bran cooked in milk with a spoon of peanut butter and an apple

lunch: roast chicken sandwich (at the services: 309 calories)

dinner: veggie soup and roll, followed by a burger with a RIDICULOUS amount of mozzarella, chips and some coleslaw which wasn’t that nice but which I kept eating because it was there. Silly.

It was definitely a cheat meal and I’m not going to be able to afford to eat out here so my diet will be nice and healthy, BUT, I did eat until I was slightly over-full which I need to work  on. I didn’t weigh myself this morning, because I didn’t want to feel self-conscious in a new place if it was a ‘bad’ number, but I am weighing myself when I go home at Xmas and I want to be UNDER 145. I’m aiming ‘high’, because I don’t want to slip. The Oreos will be communal and I bought LOADS of veggies. I also got tons of dried food, so produce restock once a week will be enough, probably until Xmas 🙂 I got cous-cous, paella rice, brown rice, fresh and frozen veggies, a couple of tins of beans, chickpeas, tahini, bread (which I need to shove in the freezer), loads! I’m looking forward to some cooking experimentation.

This entry was posted in ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment