I can only be myself

I worry a lot that people won’t like me. I’m about to up-sticks and move 200 miles to a city where I know no-one and will have to start from scratch, so this has obviously been on my mind a lot. I was worrying about it yesterday and decided, I can only be myself. I can’t live a lie and I can’t change other peoples perceptions of me. I’m alright, I’m a nice, relatively normal person.

As long as I’m comfortable in myself, why should I care if someone takes a dislike to me? Its happened before and it will happen again, it happens to everyone. Sometimes, people don’t click and thats OK, it doesn’t mean that I’ll be alone and friendless in York. I can make friends, I have friends, people do occasionally like me(!!). Of all the things to worry about, this should be pushed further down the list where it belongs.

People will not hate me because I’m ‘fat’ and they will not like me more if I’m ‘skinny’. 

I’m off into town to go to the boring-bank and do some window shopping to procrastinate from packing, washing clothes and trying to organise a key pick-up/move-in time.

This entry was posted in ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment